It’s Been 7 years????

Our 7 year anniversary at Treasured Memories is here and I can’t tell you how many awesome memories I have from the store.  It is honestly my second home.  I love being there and my employees are my best friends!  I have met so many wonderful people through the store.  We have so many fun characters…I honestly think we could be the coolest reality tv show!

Ribbon cutting ceromony September 2001

Our 1 year Anniversary.  Can you recognize anyone here?????

 

National Scrapbook Day…our first big crop in the new store on Arnould Blvd.

As long as I’ve been open, people come in and share their life and their memories with us.  I usually don’t talk about myself too much, so when I do, it kind of surprises people.  So I’ve decided to share a few facts about me with everyone…

I was born in Baton Rouge.  I went to Tanglewood Elementary, Central Middle School and Belaire High School.  I attended UL for a year.  I actually loved that school, but I was very homesick so I went back to Baton Rouge and attended LSU.  I graduated from LSU in 1987 in Public Relations with a minor in Business.

I’m a football fan…that amazes people!

 I’m a huge LSU football fan.  Actually, I love football.  Besides the LSU game Saturday night, you would never guess that I spent all day Sunday watching Football….and the highlight of my Monday was Monday night football.  I’m am really excited about the football season!  

I know that sounds weird…but I was raised by my Dad.  We only had one t.v. and it was always on football.  I grew up listening to all the LSU games on the radio.    I went to many of the football games…back then it was free!  Just show your student ID!!!  I waited tables at the awesome restaurant “Mike Anderson’s”, which is a former LSU football Hall of Fame player.  He taught all of us about LSU and always had his “trivia” quesions about the opposing teams.   It was alot of fun!

I’m very proud of my Family….

Enough about football.  I do have a family too!  I have a wonderful Son, Dakota.  I always tell people he is the perfect child.  He really is!  He is a very hard working and has the coolest since of humor.  He is in the band at Lafayette High, in his Junior year and holds down 2 jobs…one at Baja Beach Grill and the other at La Triump Country Club.   I am very proud of him!

Dakota at 15

 

My daughter is mini me.  She not only looks like me, but she acts like me too.  It kind of drives me crazy!  She’s 13….and going through the teenager thing…so I have to plead the 5th about her actions…..(just kidding) Really she’s a really good kid and strives to do well in everything.  She is very loving….loves animals and loves kids!  She enjoys babysitting.   She’s not a big scrapbooker yet, but loves for me to scrapbook her pictures.

My school picture at 10 years old.  Notice the smiley face shirt!  Cassidy is 9 years old to the right.

Cassidy at 11

And last but not least…my husband Mike.  I’ve been married to Mike for 3 years now.    He is the most wonderful person!  I met him on a blind date and fell hard really fast!  He has 2 son’s Christian and Zac, and he is wonderful with both of my children!  He is very understanding about my work and is passionate about LSU football too!  I’m very lucky to have found such a wonderful person!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “It’s Been 7 years????

  1. I must say this is a great article i enjoyed reading it keep the good work 🙂

  2. Heather

    wow, it has been a long time. I started shopping in your store about a month after you opened!!! I walked in and was hooked immediately on scrapbooking.

  3. AWWWW!!! Congratulations Treasured Memories!!! I remember the other store too!!! I started shopping their in 2002 after my son was born and have not stopped!!! HA!!! It was fun reading about Janet!!! Did not know you were from Baton Rouge!!!! Thanks for sharing!!!!

  4. Jennifer Patin

    Janet, I didn’t realize you were LSU alum! MEEEE too!!!

Leave a comment